APSA Tier Information

Tank Facilities with a total storage capacity of ≥1,320 gallons and ≤10,000 gallons of oil, with limited or no oil releases, are considered "Qualified Facilities" under the federal SPCC rule and are able to self-certify their Spill Prevention, Control and Countermeasure (SPCC) Plan. There are two types of qualified facilities: Tier I and Tier II.

Tier I

  • No individual aboveground oil storage container with a capacity greater than 5,000 gallons.
  • Meets requirements of Tier II (see below).

SPCC Plan Tier I Template

Tier II

  • Aggregate aboveground oil storage capacity of 10,000 U.S. gallons or less.
  • No single discharge as described exceeding 1,000 U.S. gallons or no two discharges each exceeding 42 gallons within any twelve month period in the three years prior to the SPCC Plan self-certification date, or since becoming subject to this part if the facility has been in operation for less than three years

SPCC Plan Tier II Template


Tank facilities with a storage capacity of more than 10,000 gallons of oil must have a Professional Engineer certify their SPCC Plan. For resources and guidance, please visit the US EPA website